My history with books…

Since I got my first follower that isnt family, I have become a lot more motivated to write, even if it is just for that one person. Anyway, ‘R A I N’ chose what I would write about for this blog post, which is my book experience and favourite books. Here goes…

I have always been an avid reader, getting less so as I lost time getting older. At first I would read anything, school sets you books to read, and I’m pretty sure I read outside of school too. They were mostly rubbish, but I was a kid with very low standards.

Then came the ‘Jacqueline Wilson’ phase, the time of my life where I was obsessed (literally) with the aforementioned author. For times sake let’s just call her ‘JW.’

I honestly don’t know how I first started reading her books, but I would say, for a good four years I was probably her biggest fan. I was even featured in her magazine, because my eighth birthday party was JW themed!

During that time I enjoyed reading and re-reading novels such as ‘Hetty Feather’ and ‘Tracy beaker.’ I think though, looking back, my favourite was ‘Midnight.’ The twisted plot really enthralled me, so much that I bought, and still have, the CD narration of it.

Then came the Harry Potter phase, which I am still a part of. I first read Harry Potter when I purchased ‘The Philosopher’s stone’ at a carboot sale. Since then my thirst for magic has only improved, leading me gradually to now, where I am sat in my Gryffindor bedroom. The best room of the house in my opinion, with deep red curtains, a gold painted wall, HP quotes galore, and my goldfish Xenophilius Lovegood swimming in his bowl.

Before you jump to conclusions, I’m not a Gryffindor. I’m Hufflepuff… :p

Now we are in the present day! I can tell you all of my favourite ‘in between’ reads. The books or series’ I have read aswell as my odd obsessive phases…

I love dystopian stories! Some of my favourites include;

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Maze runner by James Dashner

Divergent by Veronica Roth

(All of which are more than one book)

I’m actually really excited to watch the next Maze Runner movie, which comes out in 2018!

Then I am also very into Romance books. I read quite a lot of Young adult books (11 over the summer!!!) Some of my favourite YA books are;

The girl’s guide to summer by Sarah Mylnowski

Who runs the world? By Virginia Bergin

Everything everything by Nicola Yoon

I would also highly recommend any of these books by Emery Lord, because she is such a great author and I am in love with her style;

The start of me and you

-The names they gave us

-When we collided

Of course I read lots of fanfiction too!

So that just about wraps up this post, of course there is more I have read, these are just some of my favourites.

In the comments, tell me what your three favourite books are, and if you have ever had a book/author obsession. What Hogwarts house are you?

Thanks for reading!

Artbookstuff x

6 thoughts on “My history with books…

  1. I wasn’t a huge reader when I was younger but JW definitely got me reading! To this day I love her books but sadly got rid of most of them, and I do regret it. She’s just such a great author.
    And my Hogwarts house is Gryffindor! 😊
    This was such a fun post to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY GODD!! THIS was posted on October 2nd and I am reading it NOW??? WHAT THE ACTUAL HELL IS WRONG WITH MEEE???

    That was soo cute, the way you described your reading journey from childhood to the present day. AND OH MY, THE JW PHASE!!!!! ;P xDDDDDD

    Awww!!1 You got a Gryffindor themed room? THAT S SOO SWEET! I used to have SLYTHERIN *yeah, I AM EVIL* back in the day but now it’s just…..uhhh….normal, GROWN-UPS room!! GOD! I HATE THAT… But, anywayyy….I LOOVED THIS POST ❀ ❀ ❀ THANK A LOT FOR WRITING IT! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment